Special Session to Consider National Declaration and Seat Senators-Elect

PALIKIR, POHNPEI. March 29, 2024– In light of the President’s Emergency Declaration of March 11, Speaker Esmond B. Moses has called for a 10-day special session of the Twenty Third Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia to convene in Palikir on Tuesday – April 2, 2024 to address the National Declaration.  


While the Second Special Session is called pursuant to President Wesley W. Simina’s Emergency Declaration due to the recent tide surges and persistent droughtthroughout the Nation, the session also allows the Congress to seat the successful candidates from the recent national elections in the states of Chuuk and Kosrae.


During the convening of the Second Special Session on April 02, 2024, the Acting Chief Justice of the FSM Supreme Court will administer the Oath of Office to the following Senators-elect:

1.     Johnson A. Asher:  Senator-elect of Congressional Election District One from Kosrae State;

2.     Julio M. Marar: Senator-elect of Congressional Election District One from Chuuk State; and

3.     Yoslyn G. Sigrah: Senator-elect at-large from Kosrae State.


Unless called for in a different state, the sessions of the FSM Congress convene in Palikir at 10am and are always open to the interested general public.


* * *